Some ideas are too big to tell in one book, especially when it comes to soap opera fanfiction. I love to write umbrella stories, which are stories that have an inciting incident that create lasting ripple effects across the canvas. A really good umbrella story kicks off multiple smaller stories that fuel conflict and development for everyone around the main characters. These kinds of stories are difficult to tell in just one book.

These are also linked on the Alternate History page, but I’ve broken them down into the individual books here and linked to their subsite on Crimson Glass.

Mad World
Break Me Down Book One: Break Me Down (2018)
Set in June 2003. Elizabeth Webber and Jason Morgan walked away from each other in the fall of 2002 and have built new lives for themselves. Elizabeth is recently married to Sonny Corinthos’ half-brother, Ric Lansing, while Jason is on the brink of marrying Sonny’s sister, Courtney Matthews. To everyone around them, it looks as though their brief romance is a relic of the past.

Then Carly Corinthos goes missing on the eve of Jason’s wedding, and everyone knows that Ric Lansing is behind her kidnapping. How did he do it and where is he hiding Carly? Jason reluctantly allows Elizabeth to help him in his search as Sonny fends off the PCPD who don’t seem that concerned with Carly. Can they find Carly before Ric can carry out his revenge? Or before it costs one of them their life?

All of Me Book Two: All of Me (2019)
Set July 2003. Jason and Elizabeth are trying to put the last year behind them and look towards the future. As Elizabeth slowly recovers physically and emotionally from her marriage to Ric, she and Jason begin to build a life together.A serial rapist is stalking Port Charles, leaving his young victims near park fountains in a violent echo of Elizabeth’s own rape years earlier. Elizabeth believes her attacker is safely locked away, but Jason is keeping a secret that could destroy her hard-won security.

Then, the rapist strikes close to home — a daughter of one of the leading families in Port Charles. Is Elizabeth’s rapist still out there? Can the PCPD find him before he strikes again?

This Is Me Book Three: This Is Me (2020)
Set in November 2003. The park rapist has been arrested, but he thinks he has a get out of jail free card — pointing to the recent corruption scandals at the PCPD to argue he’s been framed.To make sure he goes away and his victims get justice, Scott Baldwin and Marcus Taggert have one more favor to ask of Elizabeth Webber — testify in a federal hearing to keep the department out of trouble — and to prevent her boyfriend, Jason Morgan, from testifying about a somewhat shady trip made to coerce the truth out of Tom Baker.

She won’t be alone — Dante Falconieri has a tape of his cousin confessing — but the contents of that tape compounds the misery for Elizabeth as well as for grieving parents Ned Ashton and Lois Cerullo. Taking the stand against his family will lead Dante lead down a path from which there is no return and might cost him everything.

And as if that wasn’t enough, Ric Lansing has disappeared without a trace, bringing back memories of last summer for Elizabeth and Carly Corinthos. Carly reluctantly returns home to husband, Sonny, but her nightmare is only just beginning.

Liberty Book Four: Liberty (2022)
Set in February 2004. The city of Port Charles weathered many scandals and tragedies in 2003 — from the nearly tragic kidnapping of Carly Corinthos and attempted murder of Elizabeth Webber to the serial rapist that stalked the city for months, leaving victims broken and shattered in his wake. The PCPD, having sworn to protect the city, faltered when they learned one of their own was the villain all along.A few months later, the city tries to recover but they should be careful what they wish for. Ric Lansing still haunts the dreams and memories of the people he damaged — has he really left Port Charles behind for good?

Dante Falconieri breaks under the weight of family secrets and his own weaknesses. Kelsey Joyce wants to find out who murdered her father—no matter what the cost. Carly Corinthos just wants to move on with her life and keep her family safe. And Elizabeth Morgan wants to forget that Ric Lansing ever existed as she awaits the birth of her son.

It’s time close the book on this mad, mad, mad world.

For the Broken Girl
Reflections of You Book 1: Reflections of You (2020)

Set in 2006. Jason and Elizabeth are both in committed, if unhappy, relationships; any thought of romance long since tucked away. They’re barely even friends these days. That all changes when psychopath Manny Ruiz starts work at the hospital and appears to stalk a pregnant Skye on her visits.
Worried, Elizabeth turns first to Lucky who tells her the PCPD can’t do anything without a report of a crime. With nowhere left to turn, Elizabeth asks Jason for help. Sonny and Emily’s affair explodes in the tabloids at the same time Lucky is struggling with a back injury that sidelines him from his career.

In this perfect storm of disaster, tragedy, and scandal, Jason and Elizabeth soon fall into old habits, leaning on each for support, and realizing that some things can’t be denied.

Out of the Dark Book 2: Out of the Dark
Book 3: TBD
Fool Me Twice
Ricochet Book 1: Ricochet (2021)
In October of 2017, the city of Port Charles is stunned when a man with Jason Morgan’s old face shows up at the Aurora Media re-launch party claiming to be the infamous enforcer, not the man who has been living there for three years. Finding out which man is which is only the beginning of the story.Drew Cain has a new name and new face, but none of his old memories. He’s living Jason’s life with Jason’s wife, raising Jason’s children. Who is he? Where did he come from?

Jason Morgan has been gone for five years and nothing is the way he thought it would be. His wife has moved on — with a man she thought was him. His dead son has been miraculously resurrected and another son has been identified as his own.

Jason and Drew must learn to work together to find out who stole their lives and put their families in danger. They’re not the only patients with memory issues — if Jason is Patient Six — well, who were the first five?

Someone has to pay for the lives destroyed by the twin swap and memory experimentation, but in Port Charles, it’s hard to tell friend from foe.

Ashes to Ashes Book 2: Ashes to Ashes (2024)
Set January 2018. Valentin Cassadine raises everyone’s suspicions on New Year’s Day when he suddenly heads to Istanbul, Turkey without telling his wife or daughter, leaving them as mystified as anyone else. After weeks of playing cool and calm, Valentine’s haste has everyone asking questions.Jason Morgan and Drew Cain consider following, but neither know the city enough to fly under the radar. Against their better judgement, they agree to let Luke and Lucky Spencer investigate – a decision they soon regret when the search seems to stall out as if Valentin has vanished into thin air.

But Luke and Lucky are playing a game of their own – they arrive in Istanbul to work with Nikolas Cassadine, who has been content to let the rest of the world believe he’s dead. But he’s very much alive and determined to overthrow this usurper – no matter what it might cost him.

The tangled, intricate web of the Cassadine memory experiments continues to ensnare the unwitting residents of Port Charles. Jason and Drew are rebuilding their lives, untangling the complicated ties of love, marriage, family, fatherhood, and friendship.

Who will still be standing when the smoke clears?

Book 3: Precipice (Fall 2024)
Book 4: TBD (2025)
Book 5: Exile (2025)
Book 4: Strike to Kill (2026)